Roman Around

combating liberalism and other childish notions

AND YET EVEN MORE VALIDATION … AMERICA (STILL) GIVES THE ARIZONA ILLEGAL ALIEN LAW A THUMBS UP

Posted by Andrew Roman on May 13, 2010

I accept that this may sound a tad bizarre to some – perhaps outrageous – but I must confess: In the past, on several occasions, I have actually been required to produce appropriate identification at the bank to cash a check. Likewise, I’ve had to do the same thing when renewing my automobile registration. Believe it or not, I’ve even had to furnish an ID when picking up a package at the Post Office.

I’m not making any of this up.

And if I may so bold as to breech the limits of reason – brace yourselves – I have, more than once, had to show my drivers license to a police officer when asked to do so.

Honest.

I’m not on drugs.

Yes, I know it sounds as if I may have passed through the looking glass into some Stalinist nightmare, but it’s the reality of my life. In fact, I’m willing to wager that I’m not the only citizen of the United States of America who has had to present some sort of paperwork to someone in an authoritative capacity at some point in his life.

Maybe that’s why nearly three-quarters of all Americans – repeat, three-quarters of all Americans – have absolutely no problem requiring people to produce legal documents to verify their legal status in this country.

In fact, a little better than two-thirds of all Americans believe that it is perfectly okay for police to detain anyone who cannot verify their legal status.

And if I may further aggravate those on the left – along with nervous conservatives – by gently twisting the knife in their collective gut a little more, six in ten Americans think the police should have the right to question anyone they believe may be in the country illegally.

So much for conventional wisdom, eh?

As I’ve written on several occasions – and as I will continue to write about whenever there is further vindication on this matter – there is “broad approval” across the United States for Arizona’s new illegal alien law. A new poll by the Pew Research Center confirms this.

The public broadly supports a new Arizona law aimed at dealing with illegal immigration and the law’s provisions giving police increased powers to stop and detain people who are suspected of being in the country illegally.

Fully 73% say they approve of requiring people to produce documents verifying their legal status if police ask for them. Two-thirds (67%) approve of allowing police to detain anyone who cannot verify their legal status, while 62% approve of allowing police to question people they think may be in the country illegally.

After being asked about the law’s provisions, 59% say that, considering everything, they approve of Arizona’s new illegal immigration law while 32% disapprove.

Not surprisingly, approval of Arizona’s controversial new law goes up as the ages of those being asked about it increases.

If public opinion does shift on this law, it will do so in favor of it.

Meanwhile, the incalculable idiocy of the left continues to shine. Protests and boycotts are being staged against Arizona because that state decided to enforce existing law. Local governments across the map are threatening to stop doing business with Arizona-based companies because that state is doing what the feds won’t – enforce existing law. In Highland Park, Illinois, school administrators at Highland Park High School are lobbying for a spot in the Moonbat Hall Of Fame by canceling the girls basketball team trip to Arizona to participate in a tournament there. Why? Because Arizona is finally enforcing existing law.

District 113 assistant superintendent Suzan Hebson says the trip “would not be aligned with our beliefs and values.”

This was the team’s first conference title in 26 years, but because Arizona is enforcing exisiting law, the girls will miss out..

This is the kind of irrational lunacy that defines the left.

Incidentally, only one-fourth of all Americans approve of how Barack Obama is handling immigration.

One fourth!

I had no idea he had that many relatives in this country.

wordpress statistics

One Response to “AND YET EVEN MORE VALIDATION … AMERICA (STILL) GIVES THE ARIZONA ILLEGAL ALIEN LAW A THUMBS UP”

  1. ATTILA the Viking said

    I, as well as the majority of America are in favor of AZ’s new law-and 13 other states are looking to add it to their laws as well(enforcing federal law)! Tides are shifting against liberals-the democratic congress which destroyed this country since the bush administration and this current one, along with your “messiah,your chosen one” are getting voted OUT! In november, we will remember!
    The liberal hordes scream racism because doing so is a manipulative tactic designed to get the conversation off topic so that instead of dealing with the central issue, people become bogged down in all their nonsense- that way, they can prevent any logical, sensible discussion and therefore any logical, sensible solutions.
    The tactic is known as “irrelevant argumentative side-baiting” and is designed to be manipulative and disruptive. Primarily, they seek to create a highly emotionally charged atmosphere wherein their opponents find themselves on the defensive- defending themselves against the slanderous and defamatory charge of racism.
    I’ve had people such as that denounce me as a racist a number of times and you know what? When you tell them that you’ll sue for slander and defamation and they’ll be standing in front of a judge explaining themselves and offering their “evidence”….well, it’s amazing how quickly they shut up when they find out that instead of having something to gain by screaming racism, they have something to lose!
    People are angry that the US might protect its own borders, might make it harder to sneak into this country and, once here, to stay indefinitely.
    Let me see if I correctly understand the thinking behind these protests.
    Let’s say I break into your house.
    Let’s say that when you discover me in your house, you insist that I leave.
    But I say, ‘No! I like it here. It’s better than my house. I’ve made all the beds and washed the dishes and did the laundry and swept the floors. I’ve done all the things you don’t like to do. I’m hard-working and honest (except for when I broke into your house).
    According to the protesters:
    You are Required to let me stay in your house
    You are Required to feed me
    You are Required to add me to your family’s insurance plan
    You are Required to Educate my kids
    You are Required to Provide other benefits to me &to my family
    My husband will do all of your yard work because he is also hard-working and honest. (except for that breaking in part).
    If you try to call the police or force me out, I will call my friends who will picket your house carrying signs that proclaim my RIGHT to be there.
    It’s only fair, after all, because you have a nicer house than I do, and I’m just trying to better myself. I’m a hard-working and honest, person, except for well, you know, I did break into your house
    And what a deal it is for me!!!
    I live in your house, contributing only a fraction of the cost of my keep, and there is nothing you can do about it without being accused of cold, uncaring, selfish, prejudiced, and bigoted behavior.
    Oh yeah, and I DEMAND that you learn MY LANGUAGE!!! so that you can communicate with me.
    Why can’t people see how ridiculous this is?!

Leave a Reply

 
