Roman Around

combating liberalism and other childish notions

TEXAS GOVERNOR SAYS ARIZONA’S ILLEGAL ALIENS LAW ISN’T FOR HIS STATE

Posted by Andrew Roman on April 30, 2010

Et tu, Governor Perry?

The new Arizona illegal alien law that has twisted so many panties across the map will not be a good fit for the Lone Star State, says Texas Governor, Rick Perry. “I have concerns with portions of the law passed in Arizona and believe it would not be the right direction for Texas,” he said in a written statement.

Sometimes cold hard reality is a great clarifyer.

I have always been an admirer of Perry’s, but his “path to citizenship” posture – like George W. Bush’s – is wrong-minded and painfully aggravating. Most importantly, it won’t solve the problem.

Said the Governor:

“Texas has a rich history with Mexico, our largest trading partner, and we share more than 1,200 miles of border, more than any other state,” Perry said Thursday. “As the debate on immigration reform intensifies, the focus must remain on border security and the federal government’s failure to adequately protect our borders.

“Securing our border is a federal responsibility, but it is a Texas problem, and it must be addressed before comprehensive immigration reform is discussed.”

With all due respect to Mr. Perry – as I continue to rattle my head in bewilderment at the plethora of non sequiturs being proferred by opponents of the Arizona law – what on God’s green earth does America’s “rich history” with Mexico have to do with anything? What does our trading status with Mexico have to do with enforcing illegal immigration laws? What does any of that have to do with keeping illegals out of our country and deterring new ones from coming in?

I honestly don’t understand it.

Perry says the focus must remain on border security and the Fed’s inability to get the job done.

Okay, fine.

But how long is long enough? Washington has kicked the illegal-immigration can down the dusty road of voter-block appeasement time and time again. It was inevitable that the breaking point would be reached. Arizona lawmakers, along with Governor Jan Brewer, finally decided that if anything was actually going to get done, it had to happen at the state level.

And the vast majority of Arizonians – and, indeed, Americans – think it was the right thing to do.

God bless Arizona.

In the meantime, other states need to take notice.

Real deterrence to illegal immigration will only be accomplished by the type of law put into effect in Arizona in conjunction with enhanced border security.

Indeed, everyone agrees that securing the borders in an absolute must. But for many, the way to approach the illegal immigration problem is to secure the border first, then worry about the illegals that are alreday here at a later time.

It sounds nice on paper, but it isn’t much of a deterrent.

Deterrence is the key.

More potential illegal aliens will be dissauded if they believe that American law enforcement agencies are now making it their business to crack down inside the country. For illegals, it will be an obstacle they have not had to contend with in the past.

Historically, the main encumbrance for these law breakers was simply getting into the country. Once they found a way past whatever barriers there were – often times nothing more than a chain link fence – they were essentially home free. There existed no real effort to go after them. Whatever obstacles they had to face at the border was worth the trouble. Besides, how can a country’s immigration policy really be taken seriously when there exist “sanctuary cities?”

The fact is, no matter how much security is at the border – and believe me, more is obviously better –  it won’t stop people from finding ways to slither through.

It could ultimately prove far more successful to approach this from the inside out. Given that the Feds will spend their time polishing off slogans for bumper stickers instead of defending the border, individual states could – and should – begin passing their own illegal-immigration laws, à la Arizona,  that send the message that illegals are not welcome.

As for the illegal aliens that are already here, many will wind up deporting themselves … or going to a friendlier, more-accomodating state.

Watch the population of illegals go up dramatically in those states that do not pass an Arizona-style immigration law – including the great state of Texas.

wordpress statistics

One Response to “TEXAS GOVERNOR SAYS ARIZONA’S ILLEGAL ALIENS LAW ISN’T FOR HIS STATE”

  1. ATTILA the Viking said

    Thats wrong-its the vocal minority that have their panties in a twist-the majority of America’s states are in FAVOR of AZ’s law-the far-left media and the liberal congress and other politicians are out of touch with the pulse of America which are 70% in favor of this bill! Shame on you Texas, of which I am a resident(maybe I’ll take my money and family to Florida, where they are taking an AZ stance)!!
    I, as well as the majority of America are in favor of AZ’s new law-and 13 other states are looking to add it to their laws as well(enforcing federal law)! Tides are shifting against liberals-the democratic congress which destroyed this country since the bush administration and this current one, along with your “messiah,your chosen one” are getting voted OUT! In november, we will remember!
    The liberal hordes scream racism because doing so is a manipulative tactic designed to get the conversation off topic so that instead of dealing with the central issue, people become bogged down in all their nonsense- that way, they can prevent any logical, sensible discussion and therefore any logical, sensible solutions.
    The tactic is known as “irrelevant argumentative side-baiting” and is designed to be manipulative and disruptive. Primarily, they seek to create a highly emotionally charged atmosphere wherein their opponents find themselves on the defensive- defending themselves against the slanderous and defamatory charge of racism.
    I’ve had people such as that denounce me as a racist a number of times and you know what? When you tell them that you’ll sue for slander and defamation and they’ll be standing in front of a judge explaining themselves and offering their “evidence”….well, it’s amazing how quickly they shut up when they find out that instead of having something to gain by screaming racism, they have something to lose!
    People are angry that the US might protect its own borders, might make it harder to sneak into this country and, once here, to stay indefinitely.
    Let me see if I correctly understand the thinking behind these protests.
    Let’s say I break into your house.
    Let’s say that when you discover me in your house, you insist that I leave.
    But I say, ‘No! I like it here. It’s better than my house. I’ve made all the beds and washed the dishes and did the laundry and swept the floors. I’ve done all the things you don’t like to do. I’m hard-working and honest (except for when I broke into your house).
    According to the protesters:
    You are Required to let me stay in your house
    You are Required to feed me
    You are Required to add me to your family’s insurance plan
    You are Required to Educate my kids
    You are Required to Provide other benefits to me &to my family
    My husband will do all of your yard work because he is also hard-working and honest. (except for that breaking in part).
    If you try to call the police or force me out, I will call my friends who will picket your house carrying signs that proclaim my RIGHT to be there.
    It’s only fair, after all, because you have a nicer house than I do, and I’m just trying to better myself. I’m a hard-working and honest, person, except for well, you know, I did break into your house
    And what a deal it is for me!!!
    I live in your house, contributing only a fraction of the cost of my keep, and there is nothing you can do about it without being accused of cold, uncaring, selfish, prejudiced, and bigoted behavior.
    Oh yeah, and I DEMAND that you learn MY LANGUAGE!!! so that you can communicate with me.
    Why can’t people see how ridiculous this is?!

Leave a Reply

 
