Roman Around

combating liberalism and other childish notions

I CONFESS

Posted by Andrew Roman on June 30, 2009

Paul Krugman - the anti-traitor

Paul Krugman - the anti-traitor

For those who may have suspected as much – particularly my friends on the left who regularly send me heartfelt e-mails and love notes – I must now confess to something that I have held in hard denial for the duration of my conservative life. The time has come – finally – to throw off the shackles of refutation that have crippled me intellectually and allow some much needed illumination to cut through my self-imposed narrow-mindedness, i.e. conservatism.

With the help of master leftist and hysterically agenda-driven economist (and columnist) Paul Krugman, I can now admit, without reservation, that I possess a treasonous streak.

That’s right, a treasonous streak.

Indeed, I am a traitor to my country – and yes, my planet.

There, I said it.

I am an honest-to-goodness turncoat to Mother Earth – and thanks to Krugman, I am now able to own up to it.

In his New York Times column yesterday, he set the record straight, writing about those who dared to vote against the so-called global warming “Cap-and-Trade” bill in the House – and by extention, all of us who have denied the man-made global warming threat:

And as I watched the deniers make their arguments, I couldn’t help thinking that I was watching a form of treason — treason against the planet.

In other words, we’re facing a clear and present danger to our way of life, perhaps even to civilization itself. How can anyone justify failing to act?

Still, is it fair to call climate denial a form of treason? Isn’t it politics as usual?

Yes, it is — and that’s why it’s unforgivable.

Wow, unforgivable.

Gone are the quaint old days when dissent was deemed patriotic. Washed away into the scrap heap of history are the days when opposing the party in charge was considered a healthy thing.

Welcome to the splendor of the Obamacratic Age, where striding out of lockstep with those in power – those whose goal it is to fundamentally transform the United States into the United Statists – is now considered betrayal.

Democrat Congressman Henry Waxman put the cherry on the cake for me – helping me to come to terms with my treasonous ways – by saying the following about Republicans, global warming deniers and other haters:

“They want to play politics and see if they can keep any achievements from being accomplished that may be beneficial to the Democrats. They’re rooting against the country and I think in this case, even rooting against the world because the world needs to get its act together to stop global warming.”

It’s absolutely true.

How did they know?

I not only strived for a world where life itself would be threatened on such a grand scale, but I thought it’d be fun to play a little politics on the way to our destruction.

Man, these guys are good.

Leave a Reply

 
