Roman Around

combating liberalism and other childish notions

LATINA? REALLY?

Posted by Andrew Roman on May 27, 2009

sonia sotomayor

sonia sotomayor

From the “Man, You’re Going To Get Killed for This One” file …

Everything yesterday was about Sonia Sotomayor, President Obama’s choice to replace David Souter on the Surpreme Court of the United States – and rightly so.

It was obviously a newsworthy event.

Quite literally, every newscast from every news outlet from every corner of the nation made it a point to include the fact that if Sotomayor does become the next Supreme Court justice – and what’s to stop her – she will be the first Hispanic to do so.

While I admit it to be an interesting tidbit in a “trivial pursuit” sort of way, my instinct was to be far more concerned – in fact, exclusively concerned – with her position on the role of the courts and whether or not she is going to be as liberal as Souter.

Silly me, this was my focus – her record. Not her upbringing, her neighborhood in the Bronx or her adversities.

Ethnicity was at the very bottom of the list, just after “favorite yellow vegetable” on matters of relevance.

If I had a dime for every time I heard the word “Latina” yesterday, I could almost afford lunch in Manhattan, or a new Porsche.

Thus, without equivocation or reservation, let me state for the record, that when it comes to the ethinicity of Sonia Sotomayor, I couldn’t give a rat’s belly button what she is.

I don’t care.

I really don’t.

Latina liberals are just as misguided about things as white liberals.

One Response to “LATINA? REALLY?”

  1. You know, you are such a sad, misguided individual. I bet you are a racist, bigot, homophobe in most aspects in your life.

    I have to agree with you on this post – and it was quite brilliantly written too – loved the rat’s belly button – made me snicker.

    I bet you’ll love our new health care article – just about the same cynicism and sarcasm, laced with a nice dose of just pure rant LOL

    Great Job Andrew!

Leave a Reply

 
