Roman Around

combating liberalism and other childish notions

THE ASSAULT ON WHITE AMERICA

Posted by Andrew Roman on January 22, 2009

Mr. Reich, professional

Mr. Reich, professional

With the stirring, heartfelt words of Reverend Joseph Lowery still resonating across the multicultural divide that (according to liberals) defines America’s greatness, comes further revelation that the white people of America have had it too good for too long – particularly professionals.

Gather around for just a moment, if you would.

I’d like to try a little exercise in reverse racism you might find interesting. Just for grins and giggles, substitute the word “white” for “black” in following passages. (If you’d rather use “hispanic” or “oriental,” feel free).

Just beginning to make the rounds across the blogosphere in earnest today are comments made on January 7th by Obama economic advisor Robert Reich at an Economic Recovery Plan Meeting in which he said:

“Now let me say something about infrastructure. It seems to me that infrastructure spending is a very important and good way of stimulating the conomy. The challenge will be to do it quickly – to find projects that can be done, that have a high social return, that also can be done with the greatest speed possible. I am concerned, as I’m sure many of you are, that these jobs not simply go to high skilled people who are already professionals, or to white male construction workers.”

No, this is not a comedy sketch. It is a “Yes We Can” moment meant to foster unity.

He went on to say:

“I have nothing against white male construction workers. I’m just saying that there are a lot of other people who have needs as well, and therefore, in my remarks I have suggested to you – and I’m certainly happy to talk about it more – ways in which the money can be – uh, the criteria can be set so that the money does go to others: the long-term unemployed, minorities, women, people who are not necessarily construction workers or high-skilled professionals.”

Did you substitute “white” with any other racial and cultural designation?

Wasn’t it fun?

Maybe it’s just me, but if the advisor had been on the George W. Bush team of financial gurus, and non-white professionals were singled out, would the backlash be anything short of furious? Shouldn’t it be?

All that was missing from Reich’s assertions was the rhyming scheme, ala Reverend Joseph Lowery …

“Where blacks can build streets, so they can eat … Where brown can build a bridge in your town … Where the broken-hearted can survive by extending Interstate Five…”

By all means, let’s bring in the non-professionals to build up America’s infrastructure … and as long as they aren’t white professionals, may the spirit of freedom ring.

(Say, amen).

But what of black professionals? Surely there must be some in this country of intolerance, close-mindedness, oppression and hatred. Are they to be excluded, too?

Haven’t people of Spanish origin risen to the level of “professional” in this nation yet? I could have sworn I saw one once. Are they to be denied?

Personally, I feel a bit left out – and inadequate. Seeing as I am white, and whites apparently have not been affected by the recession, I have clearly let my fellow caucasions down.  I promise to do my best to not let the recession affcet my family and me next time.

Here’s the Reich video from You Tube.

_________________________________________________________________________

Update: 22 January 2009 4:04 PM

I received a private e-mail through one of the blog sites where this article is posted.

It read, in part:

“Are you a white supremist? Or sympathetic to the cause? Your article is posted at a White Power website, I hope you know. You must be a white racist, based on this ugly article.”

The ugliness is in the reverse racism of Mr. Reich’s remarks – and the fact that no one, outside of talk radio is even bringing this up.

I have no control where links to my articles are posted, except where I specifically post them – like at the great Free Republic.com website or at Townhall.com.

There is not a single racist phrase, passage, word or idea in any article I have ever written.  I defy any clear thinking blogger – regardless of what side of the aisle he or she is on – to find where I have been racist. To discuss matters of race does not mean one is racist.

To answer your question directly, I am not a white supremist. In fact, being a Jew, I am guessing that I would not be among the most welcome in that particular group of people.  Skin color is so irrelevant to me when it comes to matters of conducting life, making decisions and doing what’s right that I have yet to see a mechanism invented that can measure my indifference to it.

However, Robert Reich, as evidenced in the video I have linked to, apparently does care about skin color – enough that he could accurately be called a white racist, only in reverse.

It is sickening.

Racism against any race – including whites – is deplorable.

Period.

 

2 Responses to “THE ASSAULT ON WHITE AMERICA”

  1. In your case, it pays to play the psychotic-sycophant …

  2. In your case, it pays to play the psychotic-sycophant …

Leave a Reply

 
