Roman Around

combating liberalism and other childish notions

SHE’S ALMOST THERE

Posted by Andrew Roman on July 28, 2009

She's on her way

She's on her way

She hasn’t made it yet, but it’s just a formality now.

Judge Sonia Sotomayor will be the newest member of the United States Supreme Court.

Earlier today, she cleared the Senate Judiciary Committee by a vote of 13-6.  (All Republicans voted “no” except one. Care to guess which one gave the Constitution a good swift kick in its manhood?)

The Senate confirmation vote will make it official next week.

The phrase “goody-goody-gum-drops” immediately comes to mind.

E-mails from liberal friends have been filling my “inbox.” I even let a buddy borrow one of the “hip-hip-hoorays” I had stashed away for a special occasion. I knew I wouldn’t be using it.

I celebrated the news by dislodging a pebble from the garden hose and reloading the bathroom tissue dispenser in the upstairs bathroom.

(I’m out of control, I know).

Indeed, I only wish Sonia Sotomayor well and a long life.

I mean that.

This afternoon, radio newscasts were filled with reports of Sotomayor’s committee approval – as they rightfully should have been. It was, after all, newsworthy – as it would have been for any nominee who moved on to a full Senate vote.

As expected – within twenty seconds of every newscast I happened to ingest - the significance of Sotomayor being the “first Latina” to make it to the high court became a focus of the story. Like taxes and death, I could have bet the deed to the house that the word “Latina” would have been the money word for the day and not worry a damn bit about winding up homeless.

Having worked in news, I understand why her ethnicity in this case is noteworthy.

However, it doesn’t change the fact that I am sorry it is so.

Why?

Because I couldn’t give a mongoose’s nipple what ethnicity Sonia Sotomayor is.

My concern is how she views the Constitution of the United States – whether she sees it as a document created by the Founders with very specific intent, with every word in place by design, steadfast and unwavering (save for the amendment process), or whether she views it as something with lungs that is wholly adaptable to whim and folly.

Today’s approval only made the replacement of one “living and breathing document” liberal with another that much closer to being a reality.

The culture from which Judge Sotomayor comes from, the shading of her skin, the blood that runs through her veins and the neighborhood where she grew up are of less interest to me than the tag in my t-shirt neck.

The nominee who said, “I would hope that a wise Latina woman with the richness of her experiences would more often than not reach a better conclusion than a white male who hasn’t lived that life,” concerns me.

The nominee who holds that the Constitution of the United States does not protect the right to keep and bear arms against infringement by state and local governments scares me.

The nominee who ruled that racial statistics are more relevant than merit angers me.

True, Sotomayor’s appointment doesn’t swing the court into darker liberal shadows since it is effectively a replacement move, but so what?

This is a matter of qualification.

As Alabama Senator Jeff Sessions said, “In speech after speech, year after year, Judge Sotomayor set forth a fully formed, I believe, judicial philosophy that conflicts with the great American tradition of blind justice and fidelity to the law as written.”

Exactly.

Incidentally, did anyone mention that Judge Sotomayor will be the very first Hispanic member of the Supreme Court?

Interesting tidbit, isn’t it?

-

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

